rich & royal. [with watercoloring]

photo 3 (11)

So one of my favoritest themes to make is ‘regal’. I love formal layouts that have lots of white space, gold accents and just one or two rich colors doing their magic. and so, the September Challenge at Altenew http://altenewblog.com/2015/09/22/september-challenge-from-places-abroad-windsor-castle/ was my ticket to play

I have recently acquired some altenew stamp sets and they instantly became my top favourite. This card is my first ever made from the Hennah Design set. I tried to play around it such that it takes the form of a velvety, regal looking dimensional flower instead of just a stamped image.

photo 2 (17)

[so the colors are not terribly off in the picture, but they arent all accurate either. somehow, capturing gold and purple on cream does this. i made lots of attemps, all on a phone camera sadly. these two were closes. but for reference, the card and the background is a pure cream color]

All thanks to the amazing prowess of Distress Inks. I painted on seedless preserves in many, many coats [i think 5 to be exact] on two heat embossed images of one of the flowers. I then cut deep into each petal to separate them and shape them into a curled, two layer flower.

The border stamp is from the same set, I just stamped and heat embossed it twice facing itself. made for a nice, regal looking border. The sequins on the lower half help bling it up gracefully 😉 and The top mat sits on an A6 size card that was inked on the borders in the same rich color.

The sentiment is from another Altenew stamp set called ‘sentiments & quotes’ and these awesome sentiments stamp beautifully, i must say.

So I hope you like how this turned out, it sure is one of my favorites, and I know just who to send it off to! ❤

Also entering this card to these two challenges:

  1. http://virginiasviewchallenge.blogspot.ca/2015/10/virginias-view-challenge-19.html
  2. http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/?p=3127

4 thoughts on “rich & royal. [with watercoloring]

  1. You have definitely mastered rich and regal with the golds and deep colors. Thanks for joining the watercolor challenge at Simon Says Stamp monday challenge!

    1. I love the SSS challenges. If I could for once manage my time, id happily take part twice a week, every week! 🙂 heh.

      Thank you for stopping by with your kind words ❤

  2. Beautiful card! We love the dimensional Hennah Elements flower!! Thank you so much for joining the Altenew Sept/Oct challenge!

Leave a comment